if i only knew

This verse was discussed this past weekend at church. There’s a long story behind this, but recently I’ve been thinking of finding a verse to kind of hold on to for a season. When we were directed to this verse all the bells and whistles in my head and heart went off. Repeatedly.

If I had fully known this verse; fully integrated it into my soul, lifestyle, and behavior…If I fully got it and lived it there may have been much heart ache, pain, and destruction avoided. This is a verse and a concept that I hope to fully live out and that I hope I can build into my kids. I’m going to start with memorizing it…

Hebrews 4:13

Nothing in all creation is hidden from God’s sight. Everything is uncovered and laid bare before the eyes of him to whom we must give account.”

Taking this out of context it could look like fear motivation. Kind of: do the right thing or God will getcha. For me though, when I put this in the context of my life experience and the relationship I currently have with Christ, it’s not about fear, punishment, or vengeance. It’s about honesty. Integrity.

Part of my problem was that in many, many areas of my life I wasn’t honest with God. Or myself. Or lots of other people. The fact is, God knows it all anyway. I believe that should be a freeing concept. That should be helpful. We can’t hide even if we want to…so why try.

I’m claiming this one. That’s how I want to live.

What are you holding on to lately?

Leave a comment

Filed under 2011

Leave a Reply

