Row, row, row your boat.

I’m told that a man interviewed several Olympic level rowers. He was interviewing people successful in what they did in search of some commonality. One question he asked each one got a virtually identical answer.

The question?

“How do you focus on rowing when it’s cold and rainy, or really hot, etc?”

The answer?

“I focus inside the boat.”

They can’t control weather or crowds or anything outside the boat. They can control everything inside the boat. Knowing what they can and cannot control frees them to make an impact. Taking complete control of what they can and ignoring everything else gives them the focus, energy, and strength to get the results they need.

So I’ll ask you the same questions I’m asking myself:

What is outside my boat and needs to be ignored?

What’s inside my boat and needs my attention?

Leave a comment

Filed under 2011

Leave a Reply

