Love. Trust. Destruction.

“Love is giving someone the power to destroy you…and trusting them not to.” – Unknown

I’ve been on both sides of this fence. The love side and the destruction side. Unfortunately I’ve even done some destroying too. I guess that’s three sides. Love is a tricky thing. It shouldn’t be, but it is. Funny how the thing that keeps us all together when misused can wreck everything. And yet, at the end of the day…

No matter the cost
No matter the destruction
No matter who’s right
No matter who’s wrong
Love wins
All the time
Every time

So here we are again: “Love is giving someone the power to destroy you…and trusting them not to.”

Thoughts?

(Quote via Simon Sinek on Twitter.)

2 Comments

Filed under 2011

2 responses to “Love. Trust. Destruction.

  1. Great post my friend! Now, imagine this… even those who have never entered through the doors of a church have heard the passage in I Corinthians 13:4-7.

    “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

    Can you imagine being loved that way by someone else? I don’t know about you, but I would feel like a superstar, unstoppable, and even fearless! Go figure, if you read I John 4:18 that fearlessness is explained; “There is no fear in love. But perfect love drives out fear, because fear has to do with punishment.”

    So the question I ask; are we loving others in such a way that we have placed ourselves in a vulnerable position to be destroyed (as you have mentioned)? If so, perhaps we are loving others in the way that casts out their fears with us. As we do that, the risk of being destroyed by them has been minimized and the love is, more often than not, returned to us yielding a fearlessness within us as well!

    • KristerDunn

      Well thought out response!

      I think part of the struggle lies in “perfect” love. Perfect love drives out fear. My love, the love I give…far from perfect. This all just impresses more and more on me the importance of my relationship with Christ. That has to be my source, my reference point.

      It is encouraging to know though, that even though we aren’t perfect we are able to love others in a way that is freeing, liberating, and energizing.

Leave a Reply

