Good Friday. A reminder…

It’s easy for me to read the Bible, especially around any sort of holiday, and act like I would have been different. The kind of thinking that says things like; “the Israelites were morons”…and yet…how often do I doubt? How often do I repeat the same mistakes? How often do I have to practically crack my own skull before I lose my hard headedness? Too often. Way too often.

The truth is, I’m no different than the Israelites. Around Easter it’s also helpful for me to remember, in all sorts of ways…

“I was there when they crucified my Lord

I held the scabbard when the soldier drew his sword

I threw the dice when they pierced his side”

And it’s only because of where I arrived in history that I am able to say…

“I’ve seen love conquer the great divide.”

 

 

~Quote source: here

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012

Leave a Reply

