Every Day Is Training Day

“I can’t remember the last day I didn’t train.”
Michael Phelps

Yesterday Michael Phelps won his 19th medal making him the most decorated Olympian in history. I found the quote above while I was preparing for a meeting at work and it rang so true I just can’t get past it.

In any professional role I’ve held training and development is an ongoing activity. We can always ask better questions; we can always increase our efficiency, we can always hone our skills.

I don’t know about you but my personal life is no different. I could have handled that situation better; I could have demonstrated better self control there; I could have planned better.

I keep stretching the analogy out and it still fits. Every day is training day. (Hopefully not in the Ethan Hawke/Denzel Washington kind of way. That would be exhausting and messy.) But every day, every experience – success or apparent failure – is training for something. It puts a different spin on things, I think.

When we train we expect difficulty and we enjoy overcoming it. Why do we expect everyday life to be easy? If we look at it as training we know up front that it won’t be easy. We also know up front that after training comes the main event – the time when we unleash ourselves and maybe, just maybe, we win the day.

What are you training for right now?

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012

Leave a Reply

