BOOKsneeze Review | “Running For My Life” by Lopez Lomong

This book is amazing!

I started reading right before the 2012 summer games kicked off in London and I could not wait to see Lopez run! I’ve got to admit, I was a little scared to read this. Lopez Lomong was kidnapped by rebels when he was six years old. In church. Right in front of his family. My wife and I have two sons. This was hard to read at times, even knowing that he survived and I was watching him on TV.

His story starts at that church, moves to his life as a prisoner waiting to either die or become a child soldier, then heads out for a run. Running from the rebel camp – escaping! – to a refugee camp where he ran for the rights to get on the soccer field first…and run some more. The story of how he ever ended up in the United States is powerful if not miraculous! The story of this mans life left me amazed, inspired, and challenged. His story telling is conversational, easy to read, and so simple and honest that it moves you.

If you want to read a real life account of the statistically impossible actually happening, read this book. If you want to see America through the eyes of a Lost Boy from Sudan, read this book. If you want to see what can be done by one family in upstate New York, read this book. If you want to see a relationship with God in action, read this book.

I’ve probably said it enough. Read this book.

I ran across this brief video of Lopez sharing his story.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2012

Leave a Reply

