2013 a.k.a. The Year of #NameItAndClaimItBaby

I’m claiming 2013. It’s mine. I own it. Or pwn it. Or both. Remember when the Irishman joins the group in Braveheart and he says that he owns Ireland? “Yeah. It’s mine.” That’s me with 2013.

Let’s talk about running. I’m running a half marathon at the Frederick Running Festival in May. This will be my third half and the second that I complete in under 2 hours. Last time I made that goal by 2 seconds. Literally. In May the gap will increase. I’m training for speed through the winter and early spring. #NameItAndClaimItBaby

But wait, there’s more.

In October I will run my first ever full marathon at the Baltimore Running Festival. I’ll complete that in under 4 hours. Arrogant? No. #NameItAndClaimItBaby

There is work to be done. There is training to be worked through. There is suffering to endure. There is pain to gain and miles to go before I sleep.

There will be failures and missed targets and frustrations galore. Because this is life. I don’t care. It’s mine. #NameItAndClaimItBaby

2013 is mine. In addition to running I’m staring down things in my personal relationships and my professional life. My marriage, TheBoys, friendships, a new professional team and organization…It. Is. Mine. #NameItAndClaimItBaby

There’s one more thing. Remember Frank Costanza? You know, Jerry Stiller? You gotta say “Baby” the way he does. This is not a Patrick Swayze “nobody puts Baby in a corner” kind of “Baby”. This is a “Pulp can fly, BABY!” Kind of “Baby”.

The Maryland Double: Half in Frederick, Full in Baltimore. It’s mine. #NameItAndClaimItBaby What are you claiming in 2013?

9 Comments

Filed under 2012

9 responses to “2013 a.k.a. The Year of #NameItAndClaimItBaby

  1. WOW! A man with a vision, plan, and execution is UNSTOPPABLE!!

    However negative point deduction for lack of a #BEASTMODE reference.

    I need to make the marathon #1 happen as well.. so here’s to us in 2013 my brother!

  2. Way to make some big targets to go after in 2013! You’ve inspired me along the way as well. Thank!

    You know you can do the 2 hour half. That under 4 hour marathon is going to push you to your limits.

    I did my first sub four at Baltimore in 2012. Let me know if you need some help getting ready. I’m planning on running Baltimore as well. We should get some long runs in together when the time comes.

    In the meantime: keep moving forward. May 2013 be a great year for you.

    • KristerDunn

      I didn’t realize that was your first sub 4! That’s awesome! That was a big day for you – birthday and everything!

      I’m expecting The Resistance to arrive during training for the full so advice, thoughts, etc are definitely appreciated. They are appreciated all the time but I know I’m swimming into deeper water on this one! Time spent with you would be great! Let’s make that happen!

      Really appreciate the pushes along the way. Keep moving forward and I wish you the best in 2013!

  3. Pingback: Welcome to 2013: #NameItAndClaimItBaby « The Edward Life Project

  4. Pingback: Doubled Down. #NameItAndClaimItBaby Are You Ready For This? | it's all been dunn

Leave a Reply

