What Do You Know?

I don’t know about you but I like to think I understand things. I like to think that concepts like freedom make sense. And then…

During a conversation with some men this gets thrown out on the table: “You know I was incarcerated for 8 years and I’ll never forget what freedom felt like on the day I was released. I never felt anything like that before in my life and that’s when it all made sense. I got it. I knew why people fought wars to get it and protect it. I’ll never forget how freedom felt that day and I’ll never give it up again.”

Yep, I like to think I understand things. But I don’t. Not like that. I’m glad he had the courage to share that part of his story. Since my story is different his transparency helped me dig my more shallow understanding of freedom a little deeper. It also got me thinking – what part of my story has given me a deeper understanding of something?

Each of us is living a different story. Our stories are powerful. That is, they can be…if we have the courage to be transparent about our jail time like my friend was.

What part of your story has given you a deeper understanding of something? Sharing your story may have more of an impact than you think. Tell your story. Even if it involves incarceration.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2013

Leave a Reply

