The Finest Of Human Qualities

When I read this quote by Winston Churchill it took a second to fully hit me. The more I thought about it, the more I agree.

“Courage is the finest of human qualities because it guarantees all the others.”

Courage is the ability to confront fear, pain, danger, uncertainty, or intimidation. Physical courage is courage in the face of physical pain, hardship, death, or threat of death, while moral courage is the ability to act rightly in the face of popular opposition, shame, scandal, or discouragement.”

That’s what I want. The ability to confront fear and act rightly. That’s what I value in relationships of any kind – personal or professional. My wife is incredibly courageous and I value that in her. I’m made better because of it. It’s also what I want for our kids. Courage.

So what next? How do we get it? Grow it? Strengthen it? Teach it? Instill it? How do we make it a part of who we are? I’m thinking that will probably take some…courage. Maybe it’s a little like faith or a muscle; you have to actually use it to strengthen it and get more of it. What do you think?

(I ran across the quote here.)

Leave a comment

Filed under 2013

Leave a Reply

